Batı Trakya

Young ABTTF attended the YEN General Assembly meeting


The meeting, during which also new members of the YEN Executive Board were elected, was attended by young people belonging to minorities from different countries in Europe.

Young ABTTF attended the Youth of European Nationalities (YEN) General Assembly which was held online on 10 October 2020. Nihan Ayan represented Young ABTTF at the meeting. 

The meeting began with a welcome speech by YEN President Giuanna Belli. Belli said they had to organise the meeting online because of the coronavirus pandemic, adding that they made an outstanding effort to make the meeting transparent and democratic.

Later, the YEN annual activity report was presented, and a discussion was held regarding the effects of the coronavirus pandemic on young people belonging to minorities in Europe. 

DM+ (Društvo mladih Slovencev v Italiji), the youth organisation of Italy’s Slovenian minority, was accepted as a member of YEN by the votes of the delegates.

As a result of the elections held at the meeting, new members of the YEN Executive Board were also designated. Andor Barabas belonging to the German minority in Romania was elected as the new president of YEN. Martina Jazbec belonging to the Slovenian minority in Italy was elected as the treasurer and Andjelo Pavlovski belonging to the Vlach (Aromanian) minority in North Macedonia as the conveyor for communication and became new members of the YEN Executive Board. 

The meeting, during which members of the YEN working groups were also elected, ended with the introduction of member organisations of to host the events and the events that YEN plans to hold in 2021 and 2022.